Old Rishworthians player of the season Jacob Bower scooped a record three awards for the club’s promotion winning season.

Not only was he the season’s outstanding player, but he also took the players’ player and the supporters’ player of the season awards.

They were presented at a special “covid-friendly” event held on the pitch with sanitising and social distancing measures to the fore.

Introducing the event, club president Tim Thornton said it had been a strange season with Storm Ciara damaging the pitch and lockdown bringing an early end to the leagues.

“But it’s also been a great season for us, gaining promotion back to Yorkshire One after a 12-game unbeaten run for the first team and the Development team finishing second in their league,” he said.

The awards were handed over by director of rugby Jon Bake with Liam Phillips picking up the trophy for the most improved player, Tom Oldroyd for the best newcomer and Joe Billing receiving the coach’s award.

For the Development team, Kurt Sutcliffe handed over the awards to James Robbins (player of the season), Stevie Richardson (most improved player), Corey White (players’ player) and Matty Tooby (coach’s award).

Junior awards were handed over by under-17s coach Rod Freeman to Jacob Chadwick, Kyle Bottomley, Francis Mackenzie and Seb Fahey.

Peter Cowie received the president’s award for the clubman of the year and Gerard Rollings won the Lewis Hilton memorial award.

Job Bake also gave special thanks to the coaching staff of Tom Andrews, Kurt Sutcliffe, Mark Witchell and Danny and Morley Hilton.

There were thanks too for groundwork volunteers Peter Morgan, Leigh Billing and Roy Greenwood and Mark Illingworth for his work to keep all the machinery running.

There were also thanks for captain Callum Heseltine, photographer Jade Kilbride, data manager Sarah Bake and clubhouse assistant Geraldine Brant.

A new digital scoreboard, dedicated to the memory of Lewis Hilton, who died aged 19 from meningitis in January 2018, was also unveiled.

The players also handed out a series of comedy awards to Chris Flanagan, Ethan Pollard, Doug Heseltine, Henry Hilton, Kris Hattam, Harry Soothill, Jon Bake, Kurt Sutcliffe, Callum Heseltine and Joe Billing.

Report by Roy