Sat 28 May 2022 21:21

Report by Roy

Awards for 2021-22 season were presented at the club with Doug Heseltine receiving two awards for the first team and Matty Tooby gaining three for the Development Team.

Matty broke into the first team at the end of the season as did the Development Team player of the year James Robbins.

Another Development Team award winner from the previous season Greg Withers picked up the award for the first team player of the year.

Head coach Richard Brown thanked former Director of Rugby Jon Bake for helping to make it a good transitional season and also thanked his assistants Mark Witchell and Morley Hilton.

He said once the team had gained confidence there were some exceptional performances, particularly against Bridlington.

“It was what we expected from a transitional season with inconsistencies in our game. But we set a target of 50 points and more than achieved it, and were competitive against the top teams,” he said.

He encouraged more people to help with the juniors and hoped to link first team, Development team and the under 18s and under 17s in training.



First team:

Player of the year – Greg Withers

Best newcomer – Arthur Wilkinson

Most improved – Oliver Marshall

Coach’s award – Kris Hattam

Players’ Player – Doug Heseltine

Supporters’ Player of the year – Doug Heseltine


Development Team:

Player of the year – James Robbins

Most improved – Matty Tooby

Coach’s Award – Henry Hilton

Players’ Player – joint Henry Hilton and Matty Tooby

Lewis Hilton Memorial Trophy – Matty Tooby


There were also Development Team ties for Henry Hilton and Matty Tooby and a first team tie for Paddy Kerr.

In addition there was special framed shirt, with signatures on the rear, presented to Simanu Tusiga, who is moving to the Cheltenham area.

More photos here